The general role of the Board of Directors is to promote and support the work of Catholic Charities.  The Board of Directors meet four(4) times annually, and Board Committees meet frequently throughout the year to accomplish their goals.  Primary duties of the Board of Directors include governing, monitoring, policy development and planning, financial support, evaluation of CEO, participation on committees, and representing Catholic Charities in personal and professional arenas.


  • Marilyn Akins: Elementary School Teacher (Retired)
  • Robert Akins: Sales & Management (Retired)
  • Donald Averill, Ed. D.: Company President, PPL
  • Laura Clark: Chief Financial Officer (Diocese of San Bernardino)
  • Dannette Cooper: Senior Vice President (Union Bank)
  • Mary Frances Coleman: Director of the Office of Religious & Consecrated Life (Diocese of San Bernardino)
  • Candace Heaton: Elementary School Teacher (San Bernardino Unified School District)
  • Deacon Fernando Heredia: Elementary School Teacher (Desert Sands USD)
  • Regina Heredia: Principal (Desert Sands USD)
  • Edward Hess: Physician (Kaiser Permanente)
  • Elizabeth Hunsicker: Holistic Practitioner
  • John Kosta: Corporate President (Retired)
  • Gerardo J. Lopez: Senior Deputy District Attorney (Riverside County)
  • Charles J. Rowley: Associate Vice Chancellor Computing & Communications & CIO (UC Riverside)
  • William Schlegel: High School Teacher (Upland Unified School District)
  • Teresa Seipel: Librarian (UC Riverside)
  • Matilde A. Servan: Care Giver
  • Hon. Martin Swanson: Judge (Retired)
  • Mrs. Mary Swanson: Attorney (Retired)
  • MaryRose Wallace: Chief Financial Officer (Retired)

Standing Committees of the Board of Directors

Fiscal Committee
Board Governance Committee
Board Personnel Committee
Resource Development Committee
Real Estate Committee
Audit Committee
CEO Evaluation Committee
Community Engagement Committee
Ad-hoc Employee Handbook Committee